Blood Promise by Richelle Mead

It has been quite a while since my last review, so I’ve somewhat forgotten how to do this!

I recently read Blood Promise by Richelle Mead which is the fourth instalment in the Vampire Academy series. I would say this novel was my least favourite so far as the story was quite slow and a lot of the jokes felt cheap and forced. It follows on from when (spoilers from previous books in the series) Dmitri was turned into a Strigoi and Rose takes it open herself to seek vengeance.

The book was quite slow to start and I almost considered adding it to my DNF pile, however, because of my already existing investment in the series, I decided to hold on and see if it got any better. Luckily, it did significantly improve. Despite the average writing and irrelevant plot details I found myself hooked on the story. We learned more about Rose and Dmitri’s history whilst observing how Lissa would develop as a character without Rose consistently at her side. I do feel emotionally invested in the characters and relationships, I have grown to appreciate Adrian and hope he plays a more significant role in the future novels.

Overall, I think this was a slow moving novel but with an effective and fun ending that managed to improve my overall rating. I’m intrigued to see where the story will go and hope to learn more about other characters like Adrian, Christian and Jill in future novels and see various relationships develop.

I gave this 3 stars overall!!

My goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/29760954-abbey


Leave a comment